Skip to main content
Version: 3.1

Cancel a payment or mark it entered in error

Overview​

This flow describes how to cancel a payment or mark it entered in error. Care recalculates the account balance after you confirm.

Pre-requisites​

  • You recorded the payment in Care, and you open its payment detail page.
  • You have the permissions listed below.

Permissions​

PermissionAccess
Can Write Payment ReconciliationLets you cancel a payment or mark it entered in error soon after you record it. Facility Admin, Admin, Staff, Doctor, Nurse, and Pharmacist have this permission.
Can Destroy Payment ReconciliationLets you cancel a payment or mark it entered in error after the facility's free-cancel window ends. Facility Admin and Admin have this permission.

Note: By default, the free-cancel window is effectively immediate. Most users need the Can Destroy Payment Reconciliation permission.

Steps​

1. Open the payment detail page​

Open the payment that you want to cancel or mark entered in error.

2. Choose the reason​

Choose one of these actions:

ActionWhen to use it
Mark as CancelledThe payment does not apply anymore.
Mark as entered in errorYou recorded the payment by mistake.

Note: On the payment detail page, press c for Mark as Cancelled. Press e for Mark as entered in error.

3. Confirm the change​

Confirm the reason that you chose.

Expected Outcome​

  • The payment shows the status that you chose.
  • Care recalculates the balance of the account.

Concepts:

Flows: